Cham Cham Guide to an MBPJ Dog License

29 May

So, 2-months into being the proud (and tired) owner of muffinthedog, I realised that a very integral part of my responsibilities also includes getting him a dog ownership license. I foresee him spending a lot of time outdoors so for my own peace of mind, the license is indeed essential.

After managing to fill up my half-day leave with chores, I headed over to the MBPJ head office. I did a little Googling beforehand and prepared documents that the forums said I would need. After waiting in line for more than half an hour, the officer announces that I was lacking but one photograph. Omaigod I could kick a person. I didn’t have enough time in my half-day to go home, take a photo of my house, go to a print shop to make a print, and then go line-up again at MBPJ. Wooosah. Not amused.

So, to spare you of this unnecessary pain, I have prepared for you a checklist of things to bring along your merry way to becoming a responsible dog owner.

1. Full body photo of pet (3R size)

2. Photo of your house (from the outside including your roof; 3R size)

3. Photocopy of proof of vaccination (pet needs to have had all 3)

4. Dog license form (which you can get at the MBPJ office)

Once you have everything, you’re good to go. At the counter, the officer will issue a receipt for you to buy a form. After buying the form, fill it up with the necessaries and submit it to the officer. This is what a dog license form looks like, RM2 for a form.

MBPJ Dog License Form

The officer will then ask if you want to buy a 1-year license or a 3-year license (RM10 per year) and issue you the corresponding receipt/s to pay for the license at a separate counter. After payment, you will be given one of these:

MBPJ Dog License Tag

He gets a flower because he looks like purdy little girl

Licenses are valid from January 1st to December 31st within the year so you’ll need to renew at the beginning of every year.

That’s all, folks!

Life could be so much simpler if we were armed with enough details. Granted, I really should’ve just called MBPJ instead of going through forum after forum and wasting so much time. Moral of the story is; stop browsing the internet and pick up the phone.

muffinthedog

He doesn’t like it when I call him a girl

18 Responses to “Cham Cham Guide to an MBPJ Dog License”

  1. DLu April 8, 2017 at 14:20 #

    Hi. Thanks for the info. Would you know how many dogs are allowed per household in MBPJ territory? I know DBKL is 2 per household but I cannot find info for PJ.

    • chamchamgirl April 10, 2017 at 11:00 #

      Hi DLu! I’m not too sure on that point but I did a bit of digging and found an answer on Petfinder here: http://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?p=104285. Basically what the commenter suggests is this:

      If you stay in the area governed by MBPJ, the requirements are as follows (based on info I received in Dec 2014):
      – 1 dog is allowed in a house no more than 3,000 square feet; 2 dogs if house is more than 3,000 sq ft; no dogs in apt/condo
      – Each dog is supposed to have its own tag
      – All dogs that are outside their premises have to wear the tags, be on leash, & be pulled by owner. Any dogs found unaccompanied in streets could be caught, EVEN IF IT IS WEARING A TAG – and could be DESTROYED if not collected after 7 days!

      I think essentially, it’ll be best to call up MBPJ and confirm their rules & regulations. Hope this helps!

  2. Natalie December 9, 2016 at 17:00 #

    Thanks for the info!! 😀 Really saved me a lot time. Cute dog btw!!

  3. Jacqui Evans September 18, 2016 at 10:14 #

    Thank you for saving me the same hassles you encountered..Brill blog. Thanks !

  4. Charlie Chan January 16, 2015 at 02:07 #

    Some idiot just complain my dog making excessive noise, I found out not my immediate neighbours that made the complaint. How to find out who make the complaint, I intend to take he or she to court for making false complaint.

  5. Looi Ky August 15, 2014 at 22:23 #

    Hi Chamchamgirl, I would like to ask if my Dog is place in OUG “gf house” where do i go to for applying the Dog licence? MBPJ? or could I apply it in MPK which I’m currently staying in Klang. And your page does help me alot to be well prepared for all doc before being superman here and there for it.

  6. Esther February 21, 2014 at 01:30 #

    Hi there, thanks for the info. I’m just about to get a goldie and my house is in PJ. I’m wondering if MBPJ require us to seek conscent from our neighbours? Fyi, my neighbour is a Malay family.

    • chamchamgirl March 3, 2014 at 00:36 #

      Hi Esther!

      During my application, they never asked about my neighbours so I assume that it should be ok. But you would definitely need to have a license just in case there are complaints, to be safe 🙂

      How old is your goldie? I have a real soft spot for those 🙂

  7. Sandra February 4, 2014 at 21:16 #

    Thanks for this!!!! Super helpful. Someone around my neighborhood just reported my dog to MBPJ cause he got into a fight with his dog 😦 And I didn’t apply for a licence before this… Do you think I will get fined? 😦

    • chamchamgirl March 3, 2014 at 00:41 #

      Hi Sandra!

      Oh dear, I’m so sorry to hear about that. Are there any developments since then? I don’t have any experience in this so, I really can’t say. Was the complaint against your dog directed to your home address? Because the license application requires you to state your home address and I’m not sure if that will pose a problem when applying for the license. Maybe you can call their hotline and ask.

      Hope everything works out!

      • desmontino December 21, 2015 at 08:54 #

        nope,is ok. Just go wth dog/hse foto,n
        documnts or vccination resit. Submit.dog argue is a norm in d anmal kingdom.

  8. Sue January 4, 2014 at 21:10 #

    Izzit true tat I won get to apply license if I stay in condo? My dog is a mini schnauzer.

    • chamchamgirl March 3, 2014 at 00:45 #

      Hi Sue!

      Unfortunately, it’s stated that we can’t rear dogs in highrise buildings. But if you know your neighbours and building management don’t have problems with you dog in the building then you may be able to get away with keeping him there. Though of course, this is at your own risk… Hopefully your little one will be able to stay by your side 🙂

      • desmontino December 21, 2015 at 09:20 #

        Hi Sue,sholdnt b an issue@it states in d Form that dogs nt allowed in Rest,Saloon,Pub,Mall. N 4 work/guard dogs allowed in fctory,wrehse,n places posing peaceful n security threat/nvironment@Goldsmiths. Btter stil 2 hv a ltter frm mngement stating is jst a small pet,n wth neighbors cnsent. All d best,jst sy u r alwys wth it at home. If ask,answr only whn ask.

  9. farah October 15, 2013 at 08:58 #

    may I know what are the vaccinations required to be done before getting the licence? thanks!

    • chamchamgirl October 23, 2013 at 22:51 #

      Hi Farah!

      Thanks for dropping by 🙂 The vaccines were actually done by my breeder before handing the puppy over. It’s standard practice, I believe. From what I gather, the vaccines are mostly for distemper, parvovirus and hepatitis but there are many other vaccinations available out there. I think the best thing to do is to get advice from your vet before proceeding.

      Happy adopting!

  10. Romeo Echo August 19, 2013 at 14:25 #

    I’ve been trying and couldn’t get through. Must be getting their engines warmed up after the Raya break and school holidays! Very helpful! Thanks!

    • chamchamgirl August 19, 2013 at 21:08 #

      Hi Romeo Echo!

      Haha indeed. Hope you managed to get your license without too much ado 🙂

Leave a Reply

